Jonathan Rea double win at Magny-Cours



The second race at Magny-Cours was won by Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team), the World Champion doing the double for the fifth time this year after a three-rider battle raged from the start. His podium tally of 22 puts him equal with Troy Bayliss who achieved the feat in 2002, and is the second highest number of podiums in a season in the all-time list.

At the flag at the end of 21-adrenalin-filled laps the remaining podium places were taken by Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team) and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) meaning the fight for the runner-up spot in the series will continue to the season finale under floodlights in Qatar in a fortnight.

unnamed (1)

Behind the top three, Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) and Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) had their own private duel with the Dutchman taking fourth with a few laps to go from his English rival.

Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) had another solid day pleasing the many fans trackside with sixth in dry conditions.

Seventh was Niccolò Canepa (Althea Racing) ahead of the duelling Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) and Luca Scassa ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team), who were eighth and ninth respectively, with Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) rounding out the top 10.

The remaining points-scoring positions were claimed by Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing), Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing), Markus Reiterberger (VanZon Rehema BMW), David Salom (Team Pedercini) and Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse).

WorldSBK Magny-Cours – Race 2

1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team
2 – Chaz Davies Racing – Ducati Superbike Team +2.848
3 – Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team +6.551

Standings (12 of 13 rounds completed)

1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team 528*
2 – Chaz Davies Racing – Ducati Superbike Team 383 (-145)
3 – Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team 367 (-161)
*Already crowned the 2015 Champion

Jacobsen wins as Sofuoglu clinches fourth WSS title

unnamed (2)

The penultimate round of the World Supersport Championship was stopped after several laps and restarted over a reduced distance of 11 laps following a retirement for Kevin Manfredi (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) that brought out the red flags to allow the track to be cleaned. The encounter was eventually won by PJ Jacobsen (CORE Motorsport Thailand) after an edge-of-the-seat duel with the new 2015 FIM Supersport World Champion Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), who settled for a safe second position to clinch his fourth WSS crown.

The podium was completed by local rider Lucas Mahias (MG Competition) who despite setting a good pace was unable to stay with the two leaders.

unnamed (1)

A two-way fight for fourth was eventually won by Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) over Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team), with Kevin Wahr (SMS Honda) in sixth nd Gino Rea, who salvaged a seventh place finish despite crashing and re-joining aboard his CIA Landlords Insurance Honda.

The top 10 was completed by Martin Cardenas (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda), Christian Gamarino (Team Go Eleven) and Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing).

Roberto Rolfo (Team Lorini), Dominic Schmitter (Team Go Eleven), Aiden Wagner (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda), Nico Terol (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) and Xavi Pinsach (Team Lorini) rounded out the point scorers.

There was disappointment for Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25) who had been in contention for the podium in the opening encounter but he failed to take to the grid for the restart due to a technical problem.

World Supersport Magny-Cours – Race

1 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand
2 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Team +3.910
3 – Lucas Mahias MG Competition Yamaha +8.950

Standings (11 of 12 rounds completed)

1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing 213*
2 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand Honda 185 (-28)
3 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse 155 (-58)
*Already crowned the 2015 Champion