Sykes claims Spanish Tissot-Superpole with new outright record



Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) has claimed the Pirelli Spanish Round pole position, his 29th career Pole after a nail biting Tissot-Superpole at the 4.423km Jerez Circuit this afternoon. The Briton lapped in an outright circuit best of 1.40.292s, six thousandths of a second better than former teammate Loris Baz’s time of 12 months ago.

The final minutes of the second session were simply hectic, with many position changes until to the chequered flag as the top 7 were separated by less than nine tenths of a second. Joining Sykes on the front row tomorrow are series leader and team mate Jonathan Rea and Althea Racing’s Niccolò Canepa, the trio split by 0.216s.

unnamed (1)

Row 2 will be headed by Michael van der Mark, who posted a series of impressive laps to grab fourth after making his way through Superpole 1 and narrowly missing out on his first ever front row start. He will be joined by Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) and Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team).

Replacement rider at the Racing – Ducati SBK Team Michele Pirro qualified seventh ahead of Althea Racing rider Matteo Baiocco and Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes who completes row 3.

Row 4 will see Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) and Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) ahead of Team Pedercini’s David Salom, who after falling in SP1 was unable to take to the track for the final 15 minutes.

Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing) and Randy de Puniet (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) will line up tomorrow on the fifth row on the grid.

WorldSBK Jerez – Tissot-Superpole

1 – Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team 1’40.292
2 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team +0.208
3 – Niccolò Canepa Althea Racing Team +0.216

Sofuoglu takes important Spanish WSS Pole


Pole Position for the Spanish round of the World Supersport championship has been taken in style by current championship leader Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing). The Turkish rider edged second placed Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) by almost half a second, courtesy of a 1’43.528 lap-time. Completing the front row will be the winner from Sepang and title contender PJ Jacobsen (CORE” Motorsport Thailand).

Row two sees Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Kawasaki), Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) and Lucas Mahias (MG Competition) while the third row comprises Gina Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance), Vladimir Leonov (DMC Racing) and Alex Baldolini (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who improved in the final 30 seconds to claim ninth.

Title contender Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) will take no further part this weekend and was not on track in qualifying after breaking his leg in FP3 yesterday afternoon. The Frenchman has been replaced by former WorldSBK rider Nico Terol who returned to the paddock at short notice claiming eleventh on the grid in his first WSS qualifying session after only 90 minutes of track time.

Tomorrow’s 19-lap race will start at 11:40 local time.

World Supersport – Qualifying

1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Team 1’43.528
2 – Lorenzo Zanetti MV Agusta Reparto Corse +0.423
3 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand +0.584

Penultimate STK1000 pole position of 2015 goes to Tamburini

unnamed (1)

Roberto Tamburini (Team MotoxRacing) has taken Pole Position, his career third, ahead of tomorrow’s penultimate FIM Superstock 1000 Cup race at Jerez this afternoon. Tamburini made it a clean sweep of Italian riders on the front row as Riccardo Russo (GM Racing) slotted into second with Raffaele de Rosa (Althea Racing) third in a session that was full of drama from the start. For Tamburini the result is significant with him being the closest to Lorenzo Savadori in terms of the overall championship standings.

Row two is headed by Czech rider Ondrej Jezek (Triple-M by Barni Ducati) who was unable to repeat his performance from Free Practice in which he was fastest. He will be joined tomorrow on row two by Fabio Massei (EAB Racing Team Ducati) and Alessandro Andreozzi (Nuova M2 Racing Aprilia).

Champion elect Savadori (Nuova M2 Racing Aprilia) crashed on his first flying lap, losing the front at Turn 2. Unhurt he was able to remount and continue the session after a few adjustments by the team, eventually qualifying ninth despite a last lap push in which he gave everything, almost crashing again. He lines up on the third row just behind team mate Kevin Calia and Jeremy Guarnoni (Team Trasimeno Yamaha).

Superstock 1000 – Qualifying

1 – Roberto Tamburini Team MotoxRacing BMW 1’44.188
2 – Roberto Russo Team G.M. Racing +0.013
3 – Raffaele De Rosa Althea Racing Ducati +0.069

Rinaldi wins his first STK600 race after dominating in Jerez

unnamed (2)

With newly crowned Champion Toprak Razgalioglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) withdrawing from the penultimate race of the season after Free Practice yesterday at Jerez the way was clear for a new name to challenge for victory.

Starting from Pole Position Michael Ruben Rinaldi (San Carlo Team Italia) hit the front leading every lap, eventually converting his number one spot in qualifying to a maiden victory by 1.571s after 13 intense laps.
Second went to Augusto Fernandez (Pata Honda Junior Team) who notched up his first podium finish, the reigning EJC champion coming home a lonely second after a controlled and mature race from the Spanish teenager.

The main action on track was all about the final spot on the podium as a group of 5 fought from lights to flag with third eventually going to Davide Stirpe (Scuderia Maranga Racing) just ahead of Andrea Tucci (San Carlo Team Italia), Niki Tuuli (Kallio Racing) and the 16-year-old Axel Bassani (Berclaz Racing Team), who completed the top 6. For Stirpe the delight was evident, the Italian taking his second podium of the year after a last corner pass on his compatriot Tucci.

The final round of the championship takes place in France at Magny-Cours in a fortnight.

Superstock 600 – Race

1 – Michael Ruben Rinaldi San Carlo Team Italia
2 – Augusto Fernandez PATA Honda Junior Team +1.571
3 – Davide Stirpe Scuderia Maran ga. Racing Kawasaki +8.976