Davies returns to winning ways in Race 2 at Jerez



Chaz Davies (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati SBK Team) went one better than in race 1 to win the second race of the day at a very hot and sunny Jerez Circuit in Spain.

Unlike the opening encounter, Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) was unable to break away after taking the holeshot for the second time. Despite stretching his advantage in the early stages, the Race 1 winner was passed with ten laps to go by Davies, who went on to grab his ninth win of his career, the fifth of 2015 and the fourth in the last six races.

The race pace was slower this afternoon, as expected because of the increase in track temperature, with Davies pulling away in the second half of the race to win by 1.840s from Jordi Torres, who made amends for his race 1 and edged his Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils team mate Leon Haslam at the line.

unnamed (1)

Fresh from winning the 2015 Superbike World Championship title in race 1, Jonathan Rea took another fourth position aboard his Kawasaki ahead of Sykes, who seemed rider one who suffered the most in the hotter conditions.

The top 6 was completed by Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing Ducati) ahead of Michele Pirro (Aruba.it Racing – Ducati SBK Team), who had another solid race to finish seventh.

8th to 10th positions were taken by Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World SBK Team), who had his 150th WorldSBK race start, and Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing).

Niccolò Canepa finished eleventh after starting on the front row aboard his Althea Racing Ducati with David Salom (Team Pedercini) in twelth place.

Michael van der Mark crashed his Pata Honda out of the podium fight with five laps to go. The Dutchman was however once again in contention until he lost the front at Turn 9. He rejoined to salvage three points with 13th at the flag.

14th was Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia), with the final point taken by the youngest competitor Christophe Ponsson (Team Pedercini Kawasaki). Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) was given a ride through penalty after pulling into the pit lane after a lap, a disappointing end to his weekend after a strong showing in Race 1. By finishing 4th and 5th in Race 2, Rea and Sykes give Kawasaki its first Manufacturer Title.

The WorldSBK riders will return to the track tomorrow for a one-day official test at Jerez, which can be followed via Live Timing and through regular updates on WorldSBK.com.

WorldSBK Jerez – Race 2

1 – Chaz Davies Aruba.it Racing – Ducati Superbike Team
2 – Jordi Torres Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils +1.840
3 – Leon Haslam Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils +2.335

Standings (11 of 13 rounds completed)

1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team 478*
2 – Chaz Davies Aruba.it Racing – Ducati Superbike Team 353 (-125)
3 – Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team 331 (-147)
*Already crowned the 2015 Champion.

Sofuoglu moves a step closer to WSS title after Jerez win

unnamed (2)

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) moved one step closer to his fourth World Supersport title after controlling today’s 19 lap race at Jerez. Starting from Pole Position, the Turkish rider made a perfect start and kept the lead up to the chequered flag, eventually winning the 32nd WSS race of his career by 1.037s.

The final places on the podium were taken by PJ Jacobsen (CORE Motorsport Thailand) and Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) the pair lapping consistently but unable to challenge Sofuoglu today.

unnamed (3)

After a steady start Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) finished fourth ahead of WSS debutant Nico Terol (MV Agusta Reparto Corse). Terol was drafted after the unfortunate crash on Friday that curtailed Jules Cluzel’s title ambitions. The rider who began the season in WorldSBK looked strong on his supersport debut, moving into the top 8 from the start, eventually finishing a very credible 5th after some elbow to elbow moves with Smith saw him lapping almost as fast as the leaders.

Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing) completed the top 6.

Seventh to tenth positions were taken by Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25), Christian Gamarino (Team Go Eleven), Kevin Wahr (SMS Honda), and Roberto Rolfo (Team Lorini), while the final point scoring positions were taken by Dominic Schmitter (Team Go Eleven), Marcos Ramirez (Team Lorini), Aiden Wagner (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) and Martin Cardenas (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) and Janos Chrobak (Schmidt Racing).

Lucas Mahias (MG Competition) was back in action but the Frenchman’s race lasted a lap before he retired with a technical problem he had been in the leading group. Gino Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) crashed out of the top ten as the race approached half distance as did Vladimir Leonov (DMC Racing). Both were unhurt.

The next round of the championship takes place at the Magny-Cours circuit in France in a fortnight.

World Supersport Jerez – Race

1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing
2 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand +1.037
3 – Lorenzo Zanetti MV Agusta Reparto Corse +2.020

Standings (10 of 12 rounds completed)

1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing 193
2 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand Honda 160 (-33)
3 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse 155 (-38)