Rea wins again as van der Mark gets maiden WorldSBK podium


unnamed (5)


The opening Dutch WorldSBK race at the TT circuit was won in emphatic style by Jonathan Rea, who set a new lap record in 1’35.889s on the penultimate lap to record his sixth win at Assen, the fifth of his 2015 championship campaign. After a 21-lap fight involving for a number of laps up to six riders, Rea eased away from eventual second place finisher Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team) with two laps to go to secure another win for the Kawasaki Racing Team, the twentieth of his career. On the other hand the Welsh rider gave Ducati its 500th WorldSBK podium.

Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) became the first Dutchman in the history of WorldSBK to stand on the podium – as well as the first non British rider to do so this year – in third after displacing Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) with an impressive move through the fast left hander of Ramshoek on the penultimate lap, which had the packed grandstands on their feet.

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) ran strongly in the opening laps before fading to fifth. The former champion looked to suffer pace-wise in the latter stages.

Jordi Torres (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) recovered from an average start to overhaul compatriot Xavi Fores ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team) for sixth in the final five laps leaving Fores to claim seventh at the flag after he had been as high as fifth in the early stages.

Reigning champion Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) had a lonely ride to eighth, coming home five seconds ahead of Nico Terol (Althea Racing) and Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who crossed the line almost side by side to finish ninth and tenth respectively.

The Voltcom Crescent Suzuki pairing of Alex Lowes and Randy de Puniet went down together at Turn 1 on lap eight, the Frenchman crashing alone and collecting his team mate who appeared to have run straight on. Both riders were unhurt.

WorldSBK Assen – Race 1
1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team
2 – Chaz Davies Racing – Ducati Superbike Team +1.098
3 – Michael van der Mark Pata Honda World Superbike +4.140